Nuts About Authors: J.P. Cawood

The Book Squirrel sat down recently to interview J.P. Cawood, author of ‘Love from Mars’ and ‘Sam & The Secrets of the Universe’.

Interview Cobalt

Welcome to the Book Squirrel’s “Nuts About Writers” series of author interviews.  

The Book Squirrel sat down recently to interview J.P. Cawood, author of ‘Love from Mars’ and ‘Sam & The Secrets of the Universe’.


What inspired you to write?

I felt I had to tell the stories of my first two books, Love from Mars and Sam & The secrets of the Universe. Love from Mars came to me in a dream, but I was already fascinated with all the news about potential manned missions to Mars. For Sam, I’m fascinated with the big questions in life like why we’re here and what’s the meaning of it all? I started tying these questions together through a 15 year-old’s journey through a black hole. What better way to find yourself than by getting lost?

What are you writing now?

I am currently outlining my third book, a science fiction for young adults. I’ve also recently had some ideas for short science fiction stories, so I plan to write a compilation of shorts as well.

What’s the best vacation you’ve had?

I love Switzerland. Hiking up Mont Blanc, visiting the Mer de Glace, horseback riding in the Alps. There’s so much nature that is breathe taking and awe-inspiring. The food is also incredible, similar to French cuisine. My favorite is raclette and tartiflette.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a lawyer from the time I was in kindergarten until about junior year in high school. My senior year, I took theatre, photography, and creative writing. Around that time, I started my own public access TV show in my home town Milwaukee. I started realizing that I needed a creative job, so I went to USC film school.

What would you like people to know about being an indie author?

I’d like people to give indie books more attention. I understand that it’s easier to consume the entertainment products that are heavily marketed and therefore, easy to know about. But if more people dug a little deeper, I think mainstream media would be much more diverse and interesting. Creative content with big marketing budgets might not have the best stories because it’s a business and is therefore vetted to be “safe” to turn a profit. More unique ideas will exist in the indie realm.

Name two things in life you wish were easier.

I’d say the two things that we can’t avoid. Death and taxes.

 

Where can we find your books?

You can find Love from Mars and Sam & The
Secrets of the Universe in paperback and ebook on Amazon:      www.amazon.com/author/jpcawood

Love from Mars is also available through Barnes & Noble:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/love-from-mars-jp-cawood/1125378755?ean=9780998378619

Where can we follow you on social media?

www.facebook.com/jpcawoodbooks

www.twitter.com/jpcawoodbooks

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16202670.J_P_Cawood

www.jpcawood.com
Thanks for chatting, J.P! It’s been fun!

Leave a comment