Nuts About Writers – Eva Pasco

Interview Orange

Welcome to the Book Squirrel’s “Nuts About Writers” series of author interviews.  

The Book Squirrel sat down recently to interview Eva Pasco, author of “An Englightening Quiche”. It was his first real interview, so he was a little nervous, but he found Eva so charming that it didn’t take him long to feel as though he’d known her for months.

What inspired you to write?

Already a proficient typist by the age of nine, courtesy of my mother, the catalyst which served as my writing inspiration occurred when I was 12 years old.  A malfunction in the electrical wiring caused our doorbell to ring automatically. This prompted me to compose, “The Mystery of the Midnight Doorbell,” a short story involving secret codes and a smuggling ring.

My overactive imagination soon spurred several mysteries and serial spy thrillers under the auspices of a fictitious organization—I.N.T.R.I.G.U.E.  Who knew I had a leg up on the popular Sixties TV series, The Man from U.N.C.L.E.!

In high school, I wrote a romance novella which earned its place on a library shelf.  The book, a sheaf of orange typing paper fastened together with mod magazine cutouts on the cover, caused quite a stir until it disappeared.  The bulldoggish librarian who reluctantly allowed my Chick Lit in the library at the urging of several classmates, told me it was stolen.  Years later, when thinking back, I believe she trashed my enterprise.

The rigors of college, and the demands placed on a rewarding teaching career, shelved further creative writing ambitions until I retired from the profession. With time on my hands, midlife restlessness reactivated my dormant imagination. Thus far, as a result of that revival, I’ve written two books in the genre of Contemporary Women’s Fiction.

What’s your favourite thing that you have written?

At this point in time, it’s my second novel, released in September, 2016—AN ENLIGHTENING QUICHE. Life’s hairpin turns predisposed me to put the manuscript aside, resume where I left off in spurts, and at one point, I’d contemplated scrapping the project altogether.  Fortunately, I got perturbed with myself because I’m not a quitter and my characters deserved the life I’d planned for them. No small feat to pull off a novel resonating with small-town life and an assortment of characters, I bask in the sunshine of reader reviews, most of which highlight this aspect—“ I felt like I could walk down the streets and actually have a conversation with some of the characters.”

What’s your favourite thing that someone else has written?

My all-time favorite book is ‘Wuthering Heights’ by Emily Brontë for its intense and brooding portrayal of the tragic and consuming nature of love.

 What are you working on writing now?

Not so much writing, but conceptualizing the characters and plot twists and turns as they fabricate and incubate in my mind for my third Contemporary Women’s Fiction novel with the working title, ‘Aida’s Fishing Season.’

What’s the best vacation you’ve had?

My kind of vacation is day-tripping, alluded to in one of well over 100 Memoirs I’ve written, “Day Trippin’—“My fondest recollections growing up in the Sixties settle upon those day trips taken during my father’s two-week summer vacation. Thinking back, it was hardly a vacation for my parents. My mom would load the picnic cooler with utensils and food staples road-ready for my father to cook on the portable stove at a campground enroute to our destination.  Throughout most of the decade, from our Rhode Island point of origin, we traversed all over New England and beyond in our Plymouth Suburban station wagon.”

There’s nothing like a day trip by car, setting out early in the morning and stopping for breakfast before navigating oneself along the highways and byways off the beaten paths.

What movie can you watch over and over again?

Without any hesitation—‘Casablanca,’ which, incidentally, plays an integral part in ‘An Enlightening Quiche.’ The characters are not cookie cut and come into their own morality over the course of the film, something I try to achieve with the main characters in my novel.

What’s your favourite season? Why?

I love autumn for its spectrum of colors and crispness in the air.  Whether by coincidence or synchronicity of chance, many of my most sacred moments in life have occurred during this season.

Oh, me too! And the nuts… oh! the nuts! Erm… where was I?
Ah, yes.

Name three people you admire, and give reasons.

Straight from the Acknowledgement page of my second novel:

My mother and namesake, Eva, for her unwavering faith and pride in my literary accomplishments cultivated by reading stories to me when I was a toddler.

My late father and namesake, Pasco, for the independent streak he instilled in me.

My sister, Gina, for encouraging me to pursue my dreams along untrammeled paths.

 What would you like people to know about being an Indie author?

From my perspective: Being an Indie author allows me the freedom to write about any subject matter in the manner I see fit without editorial censorship. That aspect is very liberating.  Be prepared to struggle to sell “one” book a day, week, or month at a time despite working your butt off to do so through various marketing strategies. Be prepared to spend more money than you’ll ever earn because you believe in the merit of your book and want people to read it.

Name two things in life that you wish were easier.

1 – Surviving on one’s own.  There’s very little wiggle room for screwing up when there’s no backup.

2- Coping with changes that may not necessarily be for the better.

 2016-10-22-11-58-05
Where can we find your book?

Amazon: https://amzn.com/B01LX9UXWV

Barnes & Noble: http://tinyurl.com/hm23t6w

Authors Den (Signed Copies): http://tinyurl.com/jkmqhpa


Where can readers follow you on social media?

Authors Den: http://www.authorsden.com/evapasco

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/EvaPasco
Thanks, Eva! You’re amazing! 

One comment on “Nuts About Writers – Eva Pasco

  1. Peg L. says:

    Ditto on the “You’re amazing.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

